Author Topic: Avgas  (Read 10290 times)

Offline Punkur67

Avgas
« on: October 02, 2008, 10:06:22 PM »
I have no experience with avgas and have only heard rumors about how to use it properly. I just bought a 2.0 subaru motor that has been tuned running it and I dont want to pay the $750 to reprogram it especially with how great it runs on it now (269 rwhp). I have heard to put an oil cap full of marvel mystery oil or trans fluid in each 5 gallons for lubrication. Is this true? Anything else I should know about it?
Its better to be a smartass than a dumbass!

Offline Yummi

• Grumpy, Sneezey and Dopey all rolled into one.
  • Administration
    • Jeeping With Dogs
Re: Avgas
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2008, 10:34:13 PM »
If it is 100 octane, just mix race fuel 110 and 91 - works for me.  Some places also sell 100 straight up.   
I like things that move.   Pretty much limits me to cars and strippers

Did you know I have a blog?  Come on now, it is 2016, everybody does.  http://www.jeepingwithdogs.com

Offline fabr

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2008, 10:38:28 PM »
I have no experience with avgas and have only heard rumors about how to use it properly. I just bought a 2.0 subaru motor that has been tuned running it and I dont want to pay the $750 to reprogram it especially with how great it runs on it now (269 rwhp). I have heard to put an oil cap full of marvel mystery oil or trans fluid in each 5 gallons for lubrication. Is this true? Anything else I should know about it?
NO!NO!NO!NO!NO! Do not run av gas in it.I need to get to bed now but if no one replies tonight I'll go into why you DO NOT want to run avgas in an automobile or motorcycle motor.
"There can be no divided allegiance here.  Any man who says he is an American,
but something else also, isn't an American at all.  We have room for but one
flag, the American flag... We have room for but one language here, and that is