Author Topic: flux core vs gas  (Read 2309 times)

Snoopy

flux core vs gas
« on: March 27, 2010, 06:44:40 PM »
hello and thanks,
I recently got a lincoln 170 ( 200 bucks used and without a bottle )as most of you know this is a 220 welder, so I put a breaker and outlet in the garage for it, went to home depot and bought a small roll of flux core and tried it out.

I did some one sided sample welds on 1/8 inch steel and when I tore them apart I just wasn't satisfied.   I'm a stick welder as part of my day job so I know what to look for but I have ZERO experience with flux core prior to this.
The only mig I've ever used was a little lincoln 135 mig with gas.I thought that was a great little welder.       
Is flux core just plain and simply cheap crap ?   I can buy a buzz box for less than a bottle for my 170 pro.        wondering if the gas will give me what I'm looking for or should I just go stick since I'm use to it ?    thx

Offline Yummi

• Grumpy, Sneezey and Dopey all rolled into one.
  • Administration
    • Jeeping With Dogs
Re: flux core vs gas
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2010, 06:58:36 PM »

Is flux core just plain and simply cheap crap ?  

You knew the answer all along.  Problem with stick on the thinner wall stuff is the burn through.  Get the bottle and don't look back. It will give you the results you are looking for IMO. 
I like things that move.   Pretty much limits me to cars and strippers

Did you know I have a blog?  Come on now, it is 2016, everybody does.  http://www.jeepingwithdogs.com

Offline Reidy02

• VIP
  • What goes around comes around!
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2010, 10:05:41 PM »
+1 Defiantly get the gas man you wont look back!
VTR 1000 CUDA on the way.. What goes around comes around!!

Offline Punkur67

« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2010, 10:36:25 AM »