Author Topic: anyone have experiance with dual disc ?  (Read 5600 times)

Offline dsrace

• VIP
  • my one true weakness
anyone have experiance with dual disc ?
« on: March 08, 2020, 03:22:46 PM »
does anyone have any experience with dual disc clutch's?  i have been running one now for 3 years. stage 2 , 200mm flywheel dual disc from KEP. i just sent them an email. i took all this apart, (while the engine is out) because i have some oil seepage that i thought may be the rear main. these engines are know for that area or right behind it.  i was looking at the clutch and it looks a little worse for the wear. it is supposed to be rated for 450 ft lbs tq as a stage 2 dual disc. i find it hard to believe i pushed that and i have never felt it slip while running but with out 1st i have had to slip it to take off. now on hard accel in the soft sand or in the trails i prob wouldn't have noticed it slipping a small amount.

any thoughts? does this look normal or like it's gotten hot?

Don't never argue with an Idiot!
Because he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience

Offline dsrace

• VIP
  • my one true weakness
Re: anyone have experiance with dual disc ?
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2020, 03:24:55 PM »
yes they look like faint ball peen hammer marks in person as well. the grooves in the friction discs is real also. could the rough ball peen looking marks be some sort of clutch chatter? they are not actual hammer marks just look like it. feel fairly smooth

Offline DeepBusch69

« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2020, 03:31:35 PM »
That is toasty for sure.  Do you have to slip the clutch very much when loading the car into the trailer? 

Offline DeepBusch69

« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2020, 03:42:08 PM »
Get it machined true and flat, get rid of the heat spots, the 6 pucks look ok from here.  The new 1st gear will help a lot

Offline dsrace

• VIP
  • my one true weakness
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2020, 05:07:14 PM »