Author Topic: broke spindle  (Read 4354 times)

455bird

broke spindle
« on: October 30, 2008, 06:16:29 PM »
Have any of you seen this happen? My spindle broke in haft at the biggest part. As you may be able to see it broke flush but if you look real close it look like it had so metal fatigue in it. Look down the center of it. What do you all think?

Offline fabr

• Administrator
Re: broke spindle
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2008, 06:49:35 PM »
I'm no expert but when I was running my automotive machine shop we had an occasion to need a valve failure analyzed.  The fracture have looks identical except it has begun in 2 places instead of 1.  See the dark areas at the top and bottom of the stub?  That is where the problem began.  It was likely a stress fracture happened as it was cooling from the welding in those areas.  It then flexed in an up/down fashion and then it simply fell off after enough cycles.
"There can be no divided allegiance here.  Any man who says he is an American,
but something else also, isn't an American at all.  We have room for but one
flag, the American flag... We have room for but one language here, and that is
the English language... and we have room for but one sole loyalty and that is a
loyalty to the American people."
Theodore Roosevelt 1907

-----------------------------------------------------------
 " You have all the right in the world to believe any damn thing you'd like, but you don't have the right to demand that I agree with your fantasy"

Offline Engineer

• Inquisitor
  • Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2008, 10:55:15 PM »
I agree with Fabr.  It is hard to tell from the pictures, but it looks like the fresh break (rough area) is just a narrow strip across the middle.