Author Topic: Boostinjdm's Trailers  (Read 18788 times)

Offline Boostinjdm

Boostinjdm's Trailers
« on: March 25, 2009, 12:36:45 AM »
I have been building trailers for myself for about 6 years now and about the time I get one done, I get the urge to build another.  Once in a while I will build matching ones, but for the most part they are all different.  I learned some very important lessons on sizing when I built my first ones, so all of my trailers are 2" longer and 2" wider than they need to be.  A sheet of plywood is kinda snug in a trailer that is exactly 4'x8'. :-[  Also, an over built trailer needs heavier axles to have a useable payload rating.  See 15 footer below. :-[ A few years back I got enough 2"x3"x1/8" tubing and 1/8" steel deck plate to build 8-10 16 foot car trailers for scrap price, so if you are wondering, that's where the material comes from ;D.  it was rejected by a local manufacturer because of a slight dusting of rust.  When I say slight, I mean if give it a very quick going over with a wire wheel, it looks just like brand new.  I don't mind a little bit of prep time compared to the thousands of dollars I saved in material. ;)

My current homebuilts are.

50"x98" single 2000 lb torsion axle tilt bed with custom stainless bolt action latch and steel bedlined deck.  Approx 1500 lb payload capacity, although I have "tested" it to 1800 lbs without problems.

80"x15' 2" Tandem 3500 lb torsion axle flat bed with steel deck and approx. 5000 lb payload, although I have "tested" it to about 6000 lbs with no problems and the trailer didn't squat more than about 1 1/4" from empty to fully loaded so I suspect the second hand axles are rated for more than 3500 lbs.  (Recently sold to buy running gear for 16 footer below.)