Author Topic: motorcycle engine minibuggy.  (Read 5772 times)

samsonjohn

motorcycle engine minibuggy.
« on: December 11, 2010, 04:07:58 PM »
Hello guys. im pretty new to 4 wheels. i have started my build of a single seat mini buggy but am still working out what type of engine to use.

can you guys explain to me what you need to run a 600cc motorcycle engine in a mini buggy. i dont need or want reverse just keep it simple.

what do i need? to run the engine and power the wheels. what type of transmission and all the stuff in the middle please. pictures of a motorcycle set up would be nice what type of axle is needed can i use a solid axle?

thank you
John

Offline Engineer

• Inquisitor
  • Global Moderator
Re: motorcycle engine minibuggy.
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2010, 05:32:31 PM »
There are lots of ways to do it.  How much wheel travel do you want?  Do you want IRS?

I would suggest you go to the "projects" section and look at how some people are doing it.

samsonjohn

« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2010, 05:56:34 PM »
there is no suspention on the kart at all. im building http://www.badlandbuggy.com/plans_Velociraptor.html i just want to know what i need to do.

Offline Engineer

• Inquisitor
  • Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2010, 06:18:27 PM »
Motorcycle engine has a clutch and tranny.  All you need is chain and a sprocket on the rear axle.  But I would check the length of your motor before building according to their plans because a MC engine is probably longer than the briggs they have shown.

Offline Yummi

• Grumpy, Sneezey and Dopey all rolled into one.
  • Administration
    • Jeeping With Dogs
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2010, 06:25:09 PM »
Also be of help to know what the doaner bike is - some are air cooled, some not - what do you have?

600 ccs might be a bit much for that plan; but you will learn a lot from the build and decide very quickly that it may be too much.

welcome to the site.